Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Inviting all Electric Vehicle (EV) questions...
Hi everyone ~ I'm a scientist. I don't claim to be an "expert" in EVs, but I am quite knowledgeable about renewable energy and battery storage. I lease a 2013 Nissan LEAF (3 years, Jun 2013 to Jun 2017) which now has over 23,000 miles on it - with zero maintenance so far - and zero emissions - and very little "range anxiety". All of you who are still driving ICE (internal combustion engine) vehicles are... how do I say this nicely?... part of the problem (no, that's not nice)... conservative (no, that's not nice either)... impoverished (well, maybe)... ignorant (not nice, but forgivable if you haven't graduated to indy media).

So, now that I've probably insulted you, ask me an EV question like:
Q: Why don't I see more EVs around?
A: Because, by and large, auto dealers don't want to (or know how to) sell them. If there's interest, I'll elaborate...

Q: What's Consumer Reports' highest rated car ever?
A: An EV - the Tesla Model S (two years in a row)

Q: Are EVs expensive?
A: Depends on your perspective. Compared to what? A typical SUV? A Mini? What's the value of near-zero maintenance and near-zero fuel cost? (rhetorical)

~aw
Hey Art,
Thanks for getting things started and moderating this forum. I'm looking forward to learning more about EVs and would like to hear about incentives and tax breaks available in NY.
Thanks!
Dear Eric ~ To my knowledge there are no state incentives for EV purchase or lease - yet. Recently though, NYSERDA issued RFP3239: http://www.nyserda.ny.gov/Funding-Opport...Contractor which anticipates offering some type of rebate in NYS to purchasers of zero-emission vehicles (ZEVs). Don't hold your breath though... it could be a couple years before an actual incentive program is announced, if at all. Government moves slowly if not pushed... hard.

Here's a good general source of NYS information:
http://www.nyserda.ny.gov/Cleantech-and-...c-Vehicles